NCRA/ANREC Byelection - Dec 3rd for Nominations

Dear members, 

The NCRA/ANREC is conducting a by-election to fill two board seats not filled at NCRC 2020. Member stations are encouraged to nominate a programmer, volunteer, or staff member. These seats are for two-year board terms, expiring at the 2022 AGM. This byelection must elect two women to fulfill our board composition requirements.

Please contact if you have any questions about board duties or the election procedure, or if you wish to submit a nomination form.

Voting procedures will be sent out to members after the candidates are announced.

Participation in the by-election as a candidate:

To participate as a candidate in this by-election, you must complete the attached generic nomination form and return it to the acting NCRA board secretary by 5pm PT, Dec 3, 2020.  On Dec 6, nomination forms will be redistributed by email to all NCRA member stations, along with voting details. Members will have until Dec 14 to submit their vote and the elected representatives will be announced on Dec 15th. 

The current board is:

Randy Reid (CHRY/VIBE 105, Toronto, ON) - Board President

Cassidy Villabrun-Buracas (CFUV 101.9 FM, Victoria, BC) - Indigenous Director

Mark Kilfoil (CHSR-FM, Fredericton, NB)

Emily Chiarvesio (CJAM FM, Windsor, ON)

Meredith Lister (Heatwave Radio, Kelowna, BC)

Wayne Smith (QCCR Radio - 99.3 FM, Liverpool, NS)

Tyra Sanderson (CJSW Radio, Calgary, AB)

Glen Swarnadhipathi (CFUV 101.9 FM, Victoria, BC)

Diverse representation

NCRA/ANREC members serve an audience recognized as diverse in ethnicity, culture, gender, sexual orientation, age, and physical and mental ability, and the NCRA/ANREC board of directors must reflect this diversity.

The NCRA/ANREC strongly encourages applications from women, non-binary individuals, BIPOC, and people with disabilties. We also recognize the underrepresentation of community stations at a board level. The current board disproportionally represents the campus sector. 

The NCRA/ANREC recognizes its historic issues with discrimination and tokenism and is actively looking to improve itself as an organization and as a reflection of the diverse nature of c/c radio. Following our ‘They Don’t Come To Us’ report about systemic racism in our sector, we’ve committed to addressing this and are actively working on solutions.  Diversity at a governance level is vital to the development of a healthier and more representative association. 

We ask that all stations share this call for nominations with your station, staff, board and volunteers and to consider the need for diverse representation for the sector. 

Board composition requirements

S.1.17.b.viii. of the bylaws states that the members shall elect no less than fifty percent women to the board and that elections must satisfy this requirement or be declared null and void. With the current board composition, this byelection must elect two women.


S.1.17.b.iv. of the bylaws states that at least four of the six regions of Canada should be represented on the board. The six regions are the Pacific (British Columbia); the North (Northwest and Yukon Territories, and Nunavut); the Prairies (Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan); Ontario; Quebec; and the Atlantic (New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island). The board includes board members from Ontario, the Prairies, the Atlantic, & the Pacific, so the regional representation requirement is met

No station can have more than one representative on the NCRA/ANREC Board, with the exception of the Indigenous seat. Therefore, any NCRA member station not represented already is encouraged to put forward a candidate in this by-election.

Kind regards,

Meredith Lister, Acting Secretary