2014/15 Awards

2014 - 2015 Community Radio Awards!

The 2015 Award Ceremony happened in Saint John, New Brunswick as the NCRC was hosted by Local 107.3 (CFMH -FM)

Check out the photos as the video from the event below!



Neskie Manuel Award for Aboriginal Affairs and Culture Programming: Open to shows or individual radio pieces. Submission should be by, for, and/or about Indigenous people. The submitted audio should fall under at least one of those three categories.

Winning First Place : Natasha Bob, Geraldine Manson & Kenny Brault - Si'em' nu Ts' lhhwulmuhw (My Fellow Native People) – CHLY

Honorable Mention: Lauren Crazybull - Voices of the Silenced: Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women in Canada - CKXU 

Documentary: Open to all documentaries that devote themselves to covering a particular subject in some depth.

Winning First Place: Sam Fenn, Gordon Katic & Katherine Beckett - Cited: Superpredators Revisited - CiTR & CJSF

Honorable Mention: Liz Mcarthur – Road to Unistoten – CFUV

Honorable Mention: Brenna Owen - Beyond Closed Doors: an exploration of hidden & youth homelessness in Kingston, Ontario - CFRC



Local Talent Development Award: honours how your station has contributed to supporting the work of local artists in the past year. This support can come in a variety of ways, from promoting local bands, to hosting live events.

The Winner is: Myke Atkinson - Sunrise Sessions – CJSW

Honorable Mention: Taylor Lucas - Ivory Hours Live on CHRW - CHRW


Syndicated Show or Podcast: Open to shows broadcast on a member station that are also podcasts or air on at least one other community radio station or television station in Canada.

The Winner Is: Danielle Dolgoy & Trevor Chow-Fraser - Terra Informa: Your Fracking Answers - CJSR

Honorable Mention: Samuel Perreault, Jean-François Roy, Jonathan Chagnon et Louis-Dominic Bertrand - La Chasse – CHUO

Honorable Mention : Paul Daniel, Michael Iantorno, Joe Lamanna - Contact - Two Unique Perspectives on Parenting and Disability - AMI-audio 


Creative Production: Open to audio art, PSAs, Station IDs or advertisements.

The Winner Is: Peter Oliver – Pet Friendly Radio – CJSW

Honorable Mention: Joe Hartfeil - A Minority of One: Rex Atlas Learns a Thing or Two About CJSR - CJSR



Community Radio Legend Award: Shelley Robinson


Breaking Barriers: Open to shows or individual radio pieces. This category is devoted to programming that fights oppression, discrimination, and promotes equity.

The Winner Is: Deepi Leihl, Morgan Yee - We Are All Equal - CiTR

Honorable Mention:  Lwam Berhe & The BSA - The Blacktivist Speaks - CHRW



Special Programming: Open to non-regular programming that covers a specific  event or issue such as an event in the community, or International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination.

The Winner Is: Olivier Charbonneau + CHUO Team - Série Live du Vieux-Hull – CHUO

Honorable Mention: Liz Mcarthur – Trans Labour Rights- CFUV


Women's Hands and Voices: Open to shows or individual radio pieces. Submission should be by, for, and/or about Women’s issues and subjects. The submitted audio should fall under at least one of these three categories

The Winner Is:  Julie Lalonde - Third Wave - CHUO

Honorable Mention: Lina Asfour-Muir - Ladies First Show - CHUO



Sports: Open to sports shows, sports coverage, live sports coverage, or individual sports stories.

The Winner Is: Shaun O'Leary - Full Circle - CFUV

Honorable Mention: John Urban – CIS Finals - CHRW


Current Affairs or Magazine Show: Open to one episode or a selection from episodes of a regular spoken word program.

The Winner Is: Jim Hyder – Senior Moments - CILU

Honorable Mention: Kay Rollans - All That Matters - Making Sense - CJSR


News: Open to newscasts, news programs, or individual news stories.

The Winner Is: Victoria King, Michael Welch - Canadian Museum for Human Rights – CKUW

Honorable Mention: Cathy Inouye, Susan Fitch, Albertha Rennie - Labour Radio: Live from the Peoples' Social Forum, Ottawa – CKUT



CKLN-FM Community Development Award: This award honours how your station has helped your community in the past year. This can include programming, special events, charity, fundraising, partnerships with other local organizations or anything else that made a difference. This award was renamed in honour of CKLN-FM, the community-based campus station formerly based at Ryerson University in Toronto, Ontario.

The Winner Is: CJSW Salutes - CJSW


Music Programming: Open to all music shows.

The Winner Is: Timothy Tweed - Sounds from the Tenacious Hi-Fi' - CFUZ (Peach City Radio)

Honorable Mention: Nick Schofield - Sean Michaels, interview on Underground Sounds – CKUT



Third Language Programming: Open to music or spoken word programming where more than half of the spoken word content is in a language other than French or English.

The Winner Is: David Delgado, 'Yucastereo', CJSF

Honorable Mention: Punjabi Rup Dhaliwal and Harvin Jandu - Desi Vibes - CJSW



Volunteer of the Year: honours the person who has worked tirelessly for your station without getting any money. They may have worked at any one or many positions at the station.

The Winner Is: Blaine Whynott – QCCR

Honorable Mention: Dave Del Rizzo  - Peach City Radio (CFUZ)